Success Story

Success Story 1: Mr. Oliver Mills

Let's have a look of Monkey Tree HK review with our teachers personal experience! Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) abroad combines a passion for teaching and learning with a passion for travelling and discovering new cultures and people. This and the fact that he enjoys working with children and young people, loves languages, and the idea of helping others to learn English was exactly what inspired the twenty-three-year-old Oliver Mills from Brighton, UK to become an English teacher.


One can say that, for Oliver, everything started with his first experience travelling abroad through school language exchange programs. These exchanges afforded him the opportunity to go to Germany and Japan as a teenager – that is actually what sparked his love for travelling!


He soon realised that there is a way of merging all the things he enjoys doing into one very rewarding profession – teaching English abroad. Having completed his TEFL qualifications, he gained his first experience teaching abroad in Chengdu in 2017 and has found himself more and more interested in teaching ever since. Afterwards, Oliver was excited to continue his TEFL journey, and Hong Kong was a perfect destination – here, he could really immerse himself in a big, vibrant city whilst still being surrounded by a rich local culture. That is how his road led him to Monkey Tree English Language Center in Hong Kong.


Being in Hong Kong today, he appreciates the chance to work with children again because his first teaching experience involved work primarily with young adults. Also, he loves the fact that he teaches smaller classes as it allows him to interact in a meaningful way with each student. During his time with Monkey Tree, his confidence when it comes to interacting with young children has increased considerably and his teaching skills have been refined. Now he feels much more able to make a class fun and entertaining while staying focused on clear objectives. Apart from feeling more comfortable in a classroom, he also has a greater sense of how we acquire and use language at different levels thanks to the range of courses taught at Monkey Tree.


What he sees as the most exciting thing about teaching EFL is definitely watching his students grow to understand and then be excited about something. He remembers one of his classes when a lesson was focused on rhyming words – the children loved coming up with their own rhymes and were still doing so even as they were walking out of the classroom.


His entire teaching journey has helped him to feel more confident and self-assured, both personally and professionally. It has also given him further insight into how children think, feel and see the world. In terms of growing as a person, teaching EFL has helped Oliver to become more interested in the similarities and differences between people and the way they learn. He became more patient but also more creative because he knows now there are so many different ways to approach the same challenge.


Furthermore, since teaching is his primary goal/objective, there can be no doubt that his days working at EFL at Monkey Tree have offered him invaluable experience that will benefit his career. He intends to pursue teaching further and will continue learning as much as possible. One of the things he points out about teaching in Hong Kong is that one should be prepared for a busy city and lifestyle. Teaching EFL provides a chance to experience an exciting way of life and see new and different cultures.


Speaking of his life in Hong Kong, there are many things he loves about it and has made many incredible memories already. He really enjoyed the Mid-Autumn Festival last month and a local celebration in Tai Po waterfront park where he went with his colleagues. They loved the music, the lights, and the atmosphere of the whole occasion. He is also a very big fan of mooncakes and Dim Sum. Falling in love with Hong Kong has also made him think about making long-term plans there.


One thing is certain for Oliver: if he could do it all over again, he would still become an ESL/TEFL teacher because he treasures the experiences he has had so far and continues to enjoy the TEFL journey.


Success Story 2: Ms. Jordan Bartlett

Have you ever met one of those people who somehow always knew what they will be doing later in life? Well, one of them is Jordan Bartlett who has always been passionate about being a teacher. On top of that, she’s always been an adventurous spirit in love with travelling.


After talking to a friend of hers who worked at Monkey Tree and absolutely loved the experience, teaching English in such an amazing place with a diverse culture like Hong Kong seemed like a great opportunity for Jordan. And that’s how her journey started.


Jordan likes to point out that teaching English at Monkey Tree and being Head Teacher has given her a lot of valuable life and professional experience. She loves that the children make the teaching fun and interesting, as most of them bring so much energy and excitement to the classes. It’s precisely what makes lessons engaging for a teacher. Also, the Head Teacher position has enabled her to work on and improve her management and communication skills.


Speaking of soft skills, Jordan shares that teaching has made her a lot more patient – not only when dealing with children, but also students’ parents and other teachers. Perseverance is also one of the qualities she reinforced along the line, which is, in her opinion, especially important for teaching ESL. Keeping children interested and engaged in their courses after they’ve had a long day at school is a task that requires exactly this.


To anyone who’s considering teaching in Hong Kong, Jordan gives her 100% support to pursuing their goal! She would tell anyone to try teaching ESL/ TEFL, even just for a year. Hong Kong has a lot to offer and everything is easily accessible. The city itself always seems to amaze her and she hopes that experiencing life there will open people’s mind to a different way of living.


When asked about her experiences related to the city’s culture and its people, she says that the Chinese New Year festival, the Mid-Autumn Festival, and National Day are definitely her favourite and most amazing experiences. Being a huge fan of fireworks, the spectacular firework display at the two festivals made a lasting impression on her.


Jordan says that she plans to carry on with teaching at Monkey Tree because the whole journey has been an amazing experience for her. The children have found a way into her heart and she wakes up every day looking forward to seeing them. Being a teacher has been both life-changing and eye-opening, and she would do it all over in a heartbeat!


Success Story 3: Mr. Waylon Jackson

Being an avid language learner with an interest in everything related to language exchange, it’s no wonder Waylon Jackson found himself a part of the great team of teachers at Monkey Tree.


His interests led him to welcome the further development of his passions into a teaching career. And today, teaching and travelling have been a major part of his life for more than 5 years! So, when the prospect of working as an English teacher at Monkey Tree and living in Hong Kong presented itself to him, he didn’t think about accepting the offer for long. He first found out about Monkey Tree from a close friend working for the company and decided to accept the offer.


In terms of professional development, Waylon’s experience as a Head Teacher has enabled him to acquire many management and communication skills. Also, he claims that teaching has made him a lot more patient and understanding of difficulties that people may experience while trying to learn a language. This has proven to be especially useful in dealing with children that are simply burned out from the demands of their academic life. Waylon finds that academic demands are very high in Hong Kong and says that this kind of dynamics enforces a stronger work ethic amongst teachers.


On a personal level, working with children at Monkey Tree has been the most fun and interesting thing about teaching ESL. Children’s responses and general innocence when questioned make Waylon smile every time. He says that teaching has taught him to persevere, and that students’ growth is evident and becomes a constant encouragement to keep going no matter what.


To anyone considering teaching in Hong Kong, Waylon says to go for it! He’s quite sure that the experience will be life-changing and impact their perspective of many things. He will continue teaching and helping people grow their confidence while communicating in a foreign language. He has been dedicated to this job for a long time, and still considers it a privilege.


Success Story 4: Ms. Louisa Smith

Luisa Smith became interested in teaching a few years after graduating from university. She had tutored a lot during her studies and loved the idea of sharing her knowledge and giving something back. Before she moved to Hong Kong, Luisa was working a 9-5 office job in London but always felt that she wanted – and needed – more.


As she says, she was very lucky to grow up in a family that loved to travel. Luisa’s parents work in the travel industry, so her family were always travelling whenever they could. When she eventually decided she wanted to teach, finding one such opportunity abroad was a no-brainer. She looked at getting a TEFL qualification, and now here she is – at Monkey Tree!


Luisa never really expected to come to Hong Kong, but when she saw the job at Monkey Tree advertised, she thought that Hong Kong sounded cool and vibrant. For her, it felt like an ideal place to base herself and from there on travel around Asia. She had actually heard about Monkey Tree from one of her friends who used to work in the centre. When she saw they were employing new teachers, she knew they would be a good company to work for. Monkey Tree’s reputation has apparently spread far and wide back to England, and today Luisa can’t imagine working anywhere else!


This was Luisa’s first teaching job and what she likes to point out is that the education system in Hong Kong is very different from the one in England. It’s much more competitive and the students are very proactive learners. She believes that the experience of teaching here has been a real eye-opener. For her, the most enjoyable part of teaching ESL is seeing the thrill and excitement the students show when they play simple learning games. They are, of course, really fun to play, but what’s more rewarding is seeing her students work hard and learn something.


Teaching ESL is very rewarding, and at the same time very challenging. Hong Kong is highly competitive and so there is a high expectation from you as an English Teacher. It’s sometimes quite a task to meet the demands of the parents and ensure that your students are meeting the requirements and making progress. But the rewards definitely outweigh the challenges. For Luisa, if you have to put in a bit of extra work to help a particular student meet the standard, then it’s worth it to see them pass their exams.


Aside from the teaching skills, Luisa has acquired at Monkey Tree, she feels that she has learnt to be a more patient, empathetic, and supportive person. She believes teaching has opened her eyes to what she needs for her further personal and professional development - a job that gives her satisfaction and is always changing, so that she feels stimulated and motivated by the work she does. Luisa also realised that she is more creative than she gave herself credit for, and loves that she can incorporate that into her work now. Also, she has learnt to appreciate her own education and upbringing, and to never take it for granted.


The experience she has had at Monkey Tree has really benefited her career. Not only did it take her out of a boring office job, but it gave her a higher purpose in life and something to strive towards. She has fallen in love with teaching, and in the not-so-distant future, she intends to study for her PGCE so she can make this her full-time career.


To anybody who is thinking of moving to Hong Kong to teach, Luisa would say “just do it!”. Moving to a new country and starting a new job is very daunting, but the experience is unforgettable, and your anxieties will wear off within a week! When asked whether she could do it all over again, Luisa was absolutely certain that she would. And would even do it sooner!


Speaking of her many great experiences of living in Hong Kong, Luisa says it would be hard to pinpoint a favourite. She really loves exploring the islands in her free time, and seeing a contrast to the usual big city skyline that Hong Kong is so famous for. The locals are very friendly and, in most places, they have kept their traditional way of life. Cheung Chau really stands out for her, because it has a beautiful beach and nice hikes, as well as a quaint little village to potter around the shops in. She is definitely excited to explore some more!

成功導師

成功故事 1: Mr. Oliver Mills

一起聽聽在香港Monkey Tree的老師分享自己的個人感受。Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) 在海外當英語教師是一種同時結合對教育、學習、旅遊和認識新文化新朋友的體驗。事實上,Mr Oliver本身就喜歡接觸小朋友、熱受語言、以及幫助大家學英語,正正就是這個特性令當初只有二十多歲的他隻身由英國Brighton來到當英語教師的原因。


所以事情要由Mr Oliver第一次參加學校的德國日本語言交流團開始說起,這個如此特別的機會令他愛上了到處旅遊。


他很快就發現了一個可以讓他同時做這些他喜歡做的事情的途徑,那就是在外地教英語。在取得TEFL教學資格之後,他在2017年開始在中國成都展開他的教學生捱,自此之後他對教學的熱誠與日俱增。之後,他繼續TEFL 事業,落腳在香港這個完美的地方,這個現代城市的煩囂結合了濃厚的本地文化色彩,就是這些原因令他來到Monkey Tree English Learning Center


Mr Oliver很滿意現在教幼兒英語的工作,也喜歡Monkey Tree的小班教學模式,認為這樣可以跟學生作更有意義的互動。現在的他對於與小朋友相處感到相當自信,教英語的技巧也進步了,能夠在課堂中搞搞氣氛,也輕易掌握不同程度課堂要用的教學技巧,這是因為Monkey Tree的多種不同課堂他都有教過。


他認為教EFL課程最興奮的莫過於看到學生學懂知識和對外界事物感興趣,他還記得有一次在堂上教押韻詞語,有學生馬上就能自己說出其他押韻詞語,即使在下課後仍然念念不忘。


Monkey Tree當教師令Mr Oliver在事業和自身更具自信和自我肯定,更了解小朋友的思考模式,如何看、感覺這個世界。透過教授EFL 課程,他對觀察不同人尤其學習上的共同和不同之處愈來愈感興趣,教學經驗亦令他更具耐性和創意,現在他明白到要達到一個目標是可以透過不同途徑的。


Mr OliverMonkey TreeEFL 工作毫無疑問令他累積了寶貴的經驗,有利於自己本身事業。他堅持在教育道路上繼續進發,學習更多。要在香港教書,其中一個要在意的地方是這個城市忙碌的生活節奏。EFL工作為他提供了機會去感受刺激的生活,去看看全新的不同文化。


提起他在香港的生活,他已經有很多喜愛的東西,也有很多美好回憶。上個月中秋節的時Mr Oliver跟同事一起到大埔海濱公園慶祝,他們很欣賞那裡的音樂、燈飾及整個節日氣氛,他也是點心和月餅的擁躉,愛上這個城市的他正準備在這裡長期生活。


有一樣可以肯定的就是,Mr Oliver如果可以選擇多一次,他仍然會選擇成為一為ESL/TEFL老師,因為他珍惜一直以來的這個經驗,希望延續TEFL的理程。


成功故事2: Ms. Jordan Bartlett

你有沒有遇過一種人,他們總是知道自己在往後的生活該做甚麼﹖Jordan Barlett就是其中一位,她一直以來都對於教育充滿熱誠,有一顆愛冒險的心,醉心旅遊。

 

加入Monkey Tree之前Ms Jordan聽過一位朋友說起在這裡工作的經歷,能夠在香港這個有多元文化的燦爛城市教授英語,對她來說是個大好機會,她十分喜歡,馬上便決定展開旅程。

 

Ms Jordan認為在Monkey Tree教英語及成為資深老師對她生活和事業帶來重大意義,她認為小朋友把活力和熱情帶到課堂上,令她的教課變得樂趣無窮,這正是當老師夢寐以求的教學體驗。而資深老師的工作崗位令她能磨練自己的管理和溝通技巧。


Ms Jordan覺得當老師的工作令她變得更有耐性,這不單是指應付小朋友,還有學生家長和其他老師。毅力也是另一項要具備的條件,尤其是教授ESL,要保持小朋友在本身學校下課後仍然有興趣又專心在Monkey Tree上課絕對不是一件容易的事。


對於有人想來香港當教師,Ms Jordan全力支持他們追求理想﹗她會告訴他們要來教ESL/ TEFL,即使只是一年也好。香港實在包羅萬有,總是有新事物令她驚喜,這裡的經歷能夠使人接受新的生活方式。

 

要談她對香港文化的體驗,她提起農曆新年、中秋節及國慶日是她的至愛。作為煙花的擁蠆,過去兩個節日的表演車在她腦海裡留下深刻印象。

 

Ms Jordan打算繼續在Monkey Tree教英語,因為一直以來的經曆實在為她帶來太多驚喜。小孩子是她的最愛,每天起床她都期待跟他們見面。在這裡當教師改變了她的生活,也擴闊了她的眼界,她很愛這種生活。


成功故事 3: Mr. Waylon Jackson

作為一位狂熱的語言學習者,Mr Waylon熱愛所有有關語言交流的東西,這也是他成為Monkey Tree優秀老師團隊一員的原因。

 

這個興趣其後對建立他的教學生捱有幫助,這5年來,教英語和到處旅遊變成了他的生活模式。當初加入Monkey Tree來到香港工作的機會來到面前的時候,他沒有考慮多久就馬上接受了,起初是他在這裡工作的一位朋友告訴他這個工作機會的。

 

在事業方面Mr Waylon成為了資深老師後有所成長,包括管理和溝通技巧。他發現教學令他變得更有耐性,更理解學生在學習語言時的難處,這點在教導本身已經被學校學業忙得喘不過氣的學生上尤其有效。Mr Waylon發現香港對教育的要求十分高,認為這種現象使一眾老師更具使命感。

 

他個人認為在Monkey Tree教小孩是教導ESL最有趣最愉快的事情,他們發問時的反應及純真每次都令他微笑。他說透過當老師他學到了「堅持」,眼見學生的成長成為了無論如何都一直走下去的推動力。


如果有人考慮去香港當老師,Mr Waylon的回應是﹕去吧﹗他肯定這個經曆會改變你的人生以及對各事物的看法。他會一直教下去,幫助學生建立自信去講英語,一直以來他全力投入,為這工作感到自豪。

成功故事 4: Mr. Louisa Smith

Ms Louisa大學畢業幾年後發現到自己對教學的興趣。讀書時她已經做過很多教學工作,十分喜歡彼此分享知識的理念。來香港之前她都朝九晚五在辦公室上班,這令她覺得總是得不到想要的東西。

 

Ms Louisa說自己生長於一個愛旅行的家庭感覺很幸福,雙親都從事旅遊業的她常常到處旅遊。所以當她決定當教師,要尋找機會到外地教書是理所當然的事,在取得TEFL資格後就來到這裡 – Monkey Tree

 

Ms Louisa之前沒有想過會來到香港,但當她看到Monkey Tree的招聘廣告時,她覺得香港這個地方聽起來很繁華很棒,對於她來說是個落腳點好讓她可以在亞洲旅遊。事實上她從一位曾在Monkey Tree工作過的朋友口中知道這間學校,所以一看到招聘廣告就決定來這裡工作。Monkey Tree的聲譽在英格蘭被廣傳,Ms Louisa想不到有第二個可以工作的地方。

 

這是Ms Louisa的第一份教學工作,她認為香港的教育制度跟英格蘭的很不一樣。這裡的競爭性較大,學生也更主動。這次的經驗令她大開眼界,對她來說這次教ESL最享受的過程就是看著小朋友緊張刺激地玩一些簡單遊戲。當然這些遊真的很有趣,但更欣慰的是他們努力去學習。


ESL令人滿足,同時也非常具挑戰性,香港是個競爭強烈的地方,所以大家對英語老師有很高的期望。有時候很難去達到家長的期望,去確保學生達到要求和有進展。整體來說收鑊是絕對大於排戰,Ms Louisa認為對個別學生投放額外心血去達標,在看到他們通過考試的一刻絕對值回票價。

 

除了教學技巧之外,Ms LouisaMonkey Tree學會變得更有耐心和同情心,也更懂得去鼓勵人。她認為教學拓展了她的視野,明白自己建立個人及事業上的需要,那就是一份能給她滿足感及多變的工作,從而感到刺激及鼓舞。Ms Louisa發現自己比想像中更有創意,並把創意放到課堂上。她也學會為自己的教育和條養而自豪,別把事情當作理所當然。

 

Monkey Tree的工作經驗對Ms Louisa的事業很有幫助,除了走出沉悶的辦公室工作之外,也帶給她更高的理想,找到向前走的方向。她已經愛上了教學,不久將來打算報讀PGCE,以教學為生事業。

 

如果有甚麼Ms Louisa要對正打算到香港教書的人說,那就是﹕來吧﹗要去到另一國家做新的工作雖然令人害怕,但經曆絕對是難忘的,而你的焦慮在一個星期內就會消失﹗問及如果可以重來會否改變初衷,Ms Louisa表示一定不會,而且可以會更早下這個決定﹗

 

提起她在香港的難忘經曆,Ms Louisa表示很難去選出一個最喜愛的,閒時她喜歡到離島,看看到處高樓大廈以外的景象。她認為本地人很友善,在多數地方保留傳統的生活方式。最有印象的是長洲,那裡有漂亮的海灘和行山徑,也有精緻的村落和小店。她很想再探索更多﹗