Course Information Back to Courses

Phonics

  • Ages: 3-6
  • 2 Classes / week
  • 1 hr / class
  • Max.5

Levels

  • Beginner
  • Intermediate
  • Advanced

Course Description - Phonics for Kids!

Our Phonics program enables your child to build the foundation to become a fluent reader and accurate speller. The course is structured over three levels, each building on the one before and geared to target crucial learning outcomes. We teach your child the letter names and sounds, a comprehensive variety of blends, digraphs, trigraphs and complex word groups and ensure that they are able to identify, read and spell each of these. We focus on pronunciation to ensure that your child speaks and reads with the clarity of a natural English speaker. Throughout the program, your child’s ability is closely monitored and special attention is given to areas for improvement. Towards the end of our program, your child’s reading and spelling abilities will be better than their peers.


Importance of Phonics / why students need to learn Phonics:

Phonics is the method of teaching the sounds made by individual letters or letter groups so that they can be merged together to form words. Phonics for Kids is very popular in HK. In English, this skill is essential and forms the basis for all reading and spelling. Our Phonics course is carefully mapped out to ensure our students are meeting fundamental objectives at every stage. By the end of the course, our students are able to read fluently, spell accurately and pronounce complex word groups with ease. In educating our Phonics students with our “Learn to read, read to learn” approach, we provide the building blocks necessary for them to have a wealth of knowledge at their disposal!

The acquisition path of Phonics:

Our Phonics course is meticulously arranged over three progressive levels. At each, we develop a number of key skills that form the foundation for fluent reading and accurate spelling.

Beginner Phonics: In Beginner Phonics, our students learn the name and sound of each letter in the alphabet. We have them perfect their writing of all upper and lower-case letters as well as teach them how to identify the starting sound of any word.

Intermediate Phonics: In Intermediate Phonics, we teach our students how to blend letter sounds together. We focus on short and simple blends and have them read and spell four letter words independently.

Advanced Phonics: In Advanced Phonics, we develop their blending abilities. We focus on complex word groups like digraphs and trigraphs, r-controlled and long vowel sounds and ensure correct and natural pronunciation. Our students are taught to spell difficult six letter words accurately and read stories with fluency and appropriate intonation.


Milestones


Milestone 1 (After approx. 6 - 8 months’ study): Students can identify and recall all letter names and sounds. They are able to write independently and can differentiate the beginning sound from the rest of the word.

Milestone 2 (After approx. 12 months’ study): Students have memorized short vowel sounds and can blend simple, four letter words naturally. Students can also read and spell these words quickly and accurately.

Milestone 3 (After approx. 14 - 16 months’ study): Students are equipped to read and spell complex blends and can differentiate between them, as well as long and short vowels.

Milestone 4 (After approx. 18 - 24 months’ study): Students have a solid foundation of complex word groups. They are to read simple stories independently and fluently. Students pronounce blends naturally with correct intonation and are able to spell six letter words with precision.

Moving forward: Students are now ready to advance to more academically inclined courses. Material in such courses builds on their foundation in Phonics and develops skills related to reading and comprehension, speaking, writing and grammar.

Class structure

Our Phonics classes incorporate a number of different tasks and activities to ensure that all our learning outcomes are met. After teaching the content, we focus most of the class on reading and dictation. Sufficient time is also provided for listening and writing activities. Every class includes time for reviewing, a related song and a fun game to reinforce what our students have learned. 

Reading and Writing Practice

Listening Practice & Independent Spelling Test


Course materials:

Our experienced in-house curriculum team has developed our very own ‘Phonics Jungle’ textbooks and readers that are specifically tailored to our Phonics course. Each level has a corresponding textbook filled with outcome-appropriate activities focused on sound identification, differentiation, listening and spelling. For every lesson, we use a different colorful and beautifully animated reader dedicated to practicing the specific sound or blend of that class. These materials provide our students with a fun and interactive way of engaging with the course.

Textbooks: Phonics Jungle

Reading: Each section in our Phonics Jungle Readers has a full page dedicated to reading. This page contains a short story with a focus on the target sound group. Each story is accompanied by colorful animations and a set of sound group specific vocabulary words for the students to learn. Our teachers have their students read for 15 minutes in every lesson and ensure correct pronunciation, intonation and fluency.

Listening Practice: Our multiple-choice activities train our students to identify the specific sounds they’re learning. For every sound group, students are presented with 12 pictures with three options for each. Our teachers say the word and have their students listen to and circle the correct sound. This allows our students to solidify their understanding of the relevant sounds groups.

Differentiation: Our differentiation activities require our students to view words in their entirety and distinguish between them. For every sound group, students are presented with 15 pictures with four options for each. Our teachers say the word and have their students listen to and circle the correct word. This trains our students merge the sounds and identify full words.

Progress report:

Every student is given a student progress folder. Our teachers use these to provide parents with detailed, academically-orientated written feedback on how their children perform in every lesson. The teachers comment on what was covered in the class, where the student performed well and if there are any areas that require revision in future classes. This allows parents to stay up to date with and closely track their child’s development through the course.



Certificate:

Upon successful completion of each level of the course, our students are awarded with an official, personalized Monkey Tree certificate. 



Free Trial Lesson

Free Assessment

Dear parents and student,
Thank you very much for your information, our consultant will contact you shortly.

Happy Learning!

Assessment Test

Dear Parent,
       Thank you for taking our Online Assessment for General English. Please note that this is not a final assessment of your child’s abilities. This aims to provide you with an estimation of your child’s level for your reference. Please accompany your child to complete the following test. Some parts of this assessment will require your guidance.


Online Written Test

Your child’s age is: (selection 3-4 / 5-6 / 7-8 / above 9)



Phonic Test

課程內容 回到課程列表

拼音班

  • 年齡: 3-6
  • 2 堂 / 星期
  • 1 小時
  • 最多 5 人

課程等級

  • 初級
  • 中級
  • 高級

課程概覽

我們的閱讀基礎課程分為三個等級,是專為幫助小朋友流暢閱讀及準確拼寫而設計。我們教授小朋友識別每個字母並記住它們各自的發音,拼讀整個單詞,並循序漸進地學習複合字母、三重混合和長元音等更深的技巧。我們十分注重英語的語音語調,務求每個學生學習外籍教師的純正發音。在整個課程中,我們每個學生的進度都受到個別指導,外籍教師也會特別留意他們需要改進的地方。在完成整個閱讀基礎課程之後,我們的學生的閱讀及拼寫技巧將明顯高於同齡小朋友。


拼音的重要性 / 為何需要學習拼音?

在學習英語閱讀和拼寫的過程中,拼音是學習每個字母的獨特發音以及它們組成的單字發音的一 種基礎技巧。我們的拼音課程確保我們的學生在每個學習階段都完成他們的學習任務,而在完成整個課程之後,我們的學生已經掌握流暢的閱讀能力、準確的拼寫能力以及能夠輕鬆地讀出複雜的複合字母。在教授拼音的過程中,我們採用 “為閱讀學習,為學習閱讀”的方法,為小朋友將來飽覽群書打好基礎。

閱讀基礎班的學習途徑

我們根據小朋友的學習曲線精心設計出三個等級,每完成一個等級,我們的學生都可掌握一套流暢閱讀及準確拼寫的關鍵技巧。

拼音初階班: 學生認識每一個英文字母並了解它們每一個的獨特發音。他們學會書寫26個大小寫英語字母,並且能夠分辨出每個單字的首字母發音。

拼音中級班: 學生將於中級拼音班中學會拼讀整個單詞。通過學習聽到每個單音節單詞中的短元音,他們將能夠自己閱讀、發音及拼寫整個單詞!

高級拼音班: 學生將學習更深的閱讀和拼寫基礎。他們會學習更複雜的拼音,如復合字母、三重混合和長元音。課程完成時,學生可以在沒有任何協助的情況下閱讀簡短的英語故事!



里程碑


里程碑一(學習約 6 個月以後): 學生可辨識並記得所有字母以及發音。他們可以獨立寫出字母,並能分辨出每個單詞的首字母發音。

里程碑二(學習約 12 個月以後): 學生能記住短元音的發音並且能拼寫簡單的四字短元音單詞。

里程碑三(學習約 14 至16 個月之後): 學生能辨認並拼寫出複合字母、 長元音及短元音。

里程碑四(學習約 18 - 24 個月之後): 學生擁有穩固的拼音基礎,發音正確, 他們可以獨立且流暢地朗讀短篇文章,並且熟練地拼讀出六字單詞。

展望將來: 學生可以進而學習學術性更強的課程,利用在拼音課程上學到的基礎,發展閱讀理解、會話、寫作及文法等技能。

課堂結構

我們的拼音班老師準備了一系列的任務與練習,當教授完課本上的內容後,便集中精力讓學生練習閱讀及默寫,另外,我們也十分注重聽力及書寫練習,每堂課都留有一部分時間作回顧,並通過耳熟能詳的歌曲及有趣的遊戲,增強學生的記憶

   閱讀及寫作練習


聆聽及拼音串字練習


教學材料

‘Phonics Jungle’及輔助閱讀教材是Monkey Tree 的課程研發團隊特別為拼音班所設計的,內含生動有趣的圖畫及富有意義的練習,每一個級別都設有一至兩本教科書,幫助學生學習發音辨識、聽力及拼寫。而每堂課結束後,學生都可以利用輔助閱讀教材深入學習某個字母發音或拼音,鞏固課堂所學知識。

Textbooks: Phonics Jungle

閱讀: 在Phonics Jungle Readers 書中,每一小節的閱讀部分都佔據一頁,這一頁上有一則短篇故事,而故事中出現的 單字集中於某一個發音,每個故事都配有生動有趣的插畫,在課堂上,老師會讓學生閱讀15 分鐘,確保他們語音語調正確,且語速流暢。

聆聽練習題: 選擇題訓練學生辨認他們正在學習的某個字母發音,學生根據聽到的發音圈出正確的答案,這樣可以鞏固他們的記憶。

區分題: 這項練習鍛煉學生自主瀏覽單字並能區分它們的不同之處,當老師讀出某個單字時,學生需要瀏覽所有選項並圈出正確的答案。

進度報告:

我們每一位學生都將收到一份學生進度報告文件夾,老師透過該報告與家長詳細匯報學生的學術表現,例如課堂上教過的知識,學生在哪些方面表現突出,以及需要 改進的地方。



證書:

每完成一個級別,學生都將獲得一份Monkey Tree 官方證書。




免費試堂

免費評估

親愛的家長和學生,
已收到閣下提供的資料,專業顧問稍後會盡快聯絡您。

祝你學習愉快!

網上評估

親愛的家長,
       感謝您使用Monkey Tree 英語網上評估。請留意是次評估只作參考用途, 而非一個全面性的評估, 評估讓我們了解您的孩子,並提供更適切的英語課程給你的孩子。部份評估需要家長協助完成。請與您的孩子一同完成以下評估。


網上英語能力測試

您孩子的年齡是: (選擇 3-4歲 / 5-6歲 / 7-8歲 / 9歲或以上)



閱讀基礎測試